LeapFrog Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

(Unknown)

Average Customer Rating:
4.031 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
23 out of 32(72%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for (Unknown)
Review 1 for (Unknown)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PonceInletMom
Location:Ponce Inlet, FL
I'm a:Parent of 2 or more children
Number of children:2
Product purchased for:5 year old
First LeapFrog product?Yes
Was this purchased for your child?Yes
Best toy for my 3 and 6 yr old
Date:February 21, 2014
Pros: Educational, Good for on-the-go play, Fun for kids, Grows with child
We have had this for 2 years now. I have downloaded plenty of games, music, and my kids' favorite videos (of their favorite character). And I have not run out of room yet. The cartridges are great too but the downloads seem to be cheaper.
It's a wonderful game system and very educational. I even have my own profile since you can have up to 3 on the Explorer. The games are great and my son, when he was 2, was able to play a lot of the games. Yet these games are hard enough and fun enough to keep my 6 year old daughter entertained too. Each profile has their age listed so the game can become harder or easier depending on what age you list on their profile. So my daughter can play the same game but play with more difficulty.
Best thing I have ever bought them! Now if it altos only teach how to share!!
Review 2 for (Unknown)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
adece
Location:Laguna, New Mexico
I'm a:Grandparent
Number of children:2
Product purchased for:4 year old
First LeapFrog product?Yes
Was this purchased for your child?Yes
good value for smallchildren's learning.
Date:October 21, 2013
User submitted photo
Pros: Educational, Good for on-the-go play, Fun for kids, Grows with child
My grandson loves to play and interact with his Leapster explorer! He has learned so much and improved his speech. Great product!!
Review 3 for (Unknown)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
crossquill
Location:Newport News, VA
I'm a:Grandparent
Number of children:6+
Product purchased for:4 year old
First LeapFrog product?No
Was this purchased for your child?Yes
Only way to go!
Date:October 16, 2013
I definitely recommend getting a charger system for any game system. My 2 and 4 year old grandsons know how to place them in the chargers when they aren't using the systems so they are always full for the next time. Replacing batteries is a pain and limits the child. As much as the system is used, it pays for itself.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for (Unknown)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EJCUCAMONGA
Location:Rancho Cucamonga, CA
I'm a:First time parent
Number of children:1
Product purchased for:3 year old
First LeapFrog product?Yes
Was this purchased for your child?Yes
Great Addition
Date:April 26, 2013
Pros: Good for on-the-go play
Perfect addition to any Leapster, perfect because other batteries will die quick - even rechargeable. SO i would recommend this as a addition to any Leapster.
Review 5 for (Unknown)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Educational: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Eve1227
Number of children:2
Product purchased for:6 year old
First LeapFrog product?No
Was this purchased for your child?Yes
A Life Saver!
Date:March 18, 2013
Pros: Good for on-the-go play
Definitely a must have, especially if your child is always on their handheld. Just imagine how much it was costing me to replace batteries, times two!
Review 6 for (Unknown)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dakota
Location:North Dakota
I'm a:Parent of 2 or more children
Number of children:3
Product purchased for:Toddler
First LeapFrog product?No
Was this purchased for your child?Yes
Economical Must Have Accessory
Date:February 13, 2013
Pros: Good for on-the-go play, Fun for kids, Grows with child
I would recommend that all owners of the leapster explorer purchase the rechargable battery pack. It is a significant initial investment however it will pay for itself quickly as an hour or two of charging allows playtime equal to a set of disposable batteries. The rechargeable battery pack is a bit heavier than the disposable kind.
Review 7 for (Unknown)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Educational: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
SUZIEQ
Location:CALIFORNIA
I'm a:Grandparent
Number of children:2
Product purchased for:2nd Grade
First LeapFrog product?Yes
Was this purchased for your child?Yes
leapster explorer
Date:January 30, 2013
Pros: Fun for kids, Grows with child, Good for on-the-go play
I love this my two grandchildren are entertained for hours at a time and when I am driving it helps to keep peace between them.
Review 8 for (Unknown)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Educational: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ShaunaBMe
Location:Phoenix, AZ
I'm a:Parent of 2 or more children
Number of children:3
Product purchased for:Kindergarten
First LeapFrog product?No
Was this purchased for your child?No
Bargain!!!!!
Date:January 26, 2013
Pros: Good for on-the-go play
This is the way to go if you have an Explorer. Comes with battery pack and adapter which are necessities if you don't want to keep investing in batteries. Also convenient that you can charge battery without having it attached to Explorer, so while battery pack is being charged you can still hook up Explorer to either a back-up battery pack or plug it in the wall until other unit is charged. Now just need to come up with a car adapter for travel! This is definitely worth purchasing in the long run!
Review 9 for (Unknown)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Laneice
Location:Hyde Park, MA
I'm a:Parent of 2 or more children
Number of children:3
Product purchased for:2nd Grade
First LeapFrog product?Yes
Was this purchased for your child?No
Great option
Date:January 16, 2013
Pros: Good for on-the-go play
This charger is perfecft for on the go or travel trips. I was happy to learn there was another option besides regular batteries.
Review 10 for (Unknown)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EmpressC
Location:New York, NY
I'm a:First time parent
Number of children:1
Product purchased for:Kindergarten
First LeapFrog product?Yes
Was this purchased for your child?Yes
Fantastic Product
Date:January 14, 2013
Pros: Good for on-the-go play, Fun for kids, Grows with child
Great product. Purchased the Explorer for my 4 year old last Christmas. Didn't think about the charger. After a year of buying batteries, we purchased as a Christmas gift this year - Worth every penny!!! We went Holiday for New Years- and saved so much money (batteries are twice as expensive abroad). Plus the charge lasted our entire flight (airport time included)
Review 11 for (Unknown)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Granmommy
Location:Oregon
I'm a:Grandparent
Product purchased for:Pre-school
First LeapFrog product?No
Was this purchased for your child?Yes
Excellent value
Date:December 29, 2012
The recharger is the best thing since sliced bread. No more batteries. We have our granddaughter put her Leapster in the charger at night time when she goes to bed. Perfect!
Review 12 for (Unknown)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mlsinc
Location:Midway, TN
I'm a:Parent of 2 or more children
Number of children:3
Product purchased for:2nd Grade
First LeapFrog product?No
Was this purchased for your child?No
Much better than the 4 double a batteries
Date:October 9, 2012
Pros: Good for on-the-go play
We've had the Leapster Explorer for almost a year and we finally broke down and purchased this charger. MUCH MUCH better than the 4 double a batteries twice a week replacement. Worth it. Don't forget to keep the connections clean on the charger and the explorer.
Review 13 for (Unknown)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Educational: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BenjabugsMom
Location:Lexington
I'm a:Parent of 2 or more children
Number of children:3
Product purchased for:Pre-school
First LeapFrog product?No
Was this purchased for your child?No
Love this charger!
Date:August 27, 2012
Pros: Good for on-the-go play
This is awesome! No more battery changing! My son places his Explorer on the charger for it to "sleep" or take a "nap" and it is always ready to go.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for (Unknown)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
froglove
Location:Lafayette,IN
I'm a:Parent of 2 or more children
Number of children:2
Product purchased for:Pre-school
First LeapFrog product?No
Was this purchased for your child?Yes
Date:August 6, 2012
Pros: Good for on-the-go play, Fun for kids, Grows with child
I love the recharger!! I was buying batteries every couple days until i got this. I would recommend getting this for anyone buying a leapster
Review 15 for (Unknown)
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Fun: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
abcat
Location:Wilbraham, MA
I'm a:Parent of 2 or more children
Number of children:3
Product purchased for:Pre-school
First LeapFrog product?Yes
Was this purchased for your child?No
Was in love, now not so much
Date:April 2, 2012
Pros: Good for on-the-go play
My 4 yo daughter got the Leapster Explorer for Christmas this year. She LOVES it. Unfortunately the batteries were costing us a fortune so we got the charger. Well now 3 months later, like every other reviewer, its not working anymore. The charger just sits and blinks. I have unplugged, replugged, changed everything I can, cleaned the ports with a dry towel or Q-tip NOTHING. It just blinks!!! I am very very upset as my daughter plays with this daily. I will probably by the rechargeable batteries and throw the charging unit away.
Review 16 for (Unknown)
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Elinor
Location:Montreal, Quebec
I'm a:Stay at home parent
Number of children:2
Product purchased for:Pre-school
First LeapFrog product?Yes
Was this purchased for your child?Yes
LEAPSTER EXPLORER RECHARGER REVIEW
Date:March 31, 2012
Pros: Fun for kids
I bought the Leapster Explorer (complete with the battery pack, and the recharger) last Dec, 2, 2011 for my 4 year old son. He uses it about 3 times in a week. However, today my son complained that his explorer went off all of a sudden after about 15 minutes of playing with it. I noticed that the recharger's green light was blinking and this is the first time that it happened. The unit was not charging at all. I'm not sure if the quality of the recharger or the battery pack is to be questioned here. It's just disappointing that, as I read from the other reviews, my problem is not an isolated case. Maybe the company should look into what could be done to improve the quality of their products. Over the years, Leapster turned out to be the leader in educational stuff for kids so I'm hopeful that they address the issues posted in the reviews so customers will not end up looking for other brands that will satisfy their money's worth. As for the purpose of making learning fun for kids, i don't have anything but praise. The problem lies in the accessories. What are you (Leapster) going to do about it?
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for (Unknown)
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Fun: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Educational: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DEBBIE
Location:ERIE PA
I'm a:Grandparent
Number of children:2
Product purchased for:Toddler
First LeapFrog product?No
Was this purchased for your child?Yes
LOVE THE IDEA OF ON THE GO RECHARGING SHATION
Date:March 10, 2012
Pros: Good for on-the-go play
IT WAS PLUGGED IN OVER NIGHT AND STILL DOES NOT RECARGE THE UNIT. QUIT WORKING AFTER 3 MONTHS.I GOT THIS FOR MY GRANDSON FOR CHRISTMANS. NOT A GOOD VALUE
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for (Unknown)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ELLAS
Location:WI
I'm a:Stay at home parent
Number of children:2
Product purchased for:Pre-school
First LeapFrog product?Yes
Was this purchased for your child?Yes
Dissapointed :(
Date:December 8, 2011
Pros: Good for on-the-go play, Grows with child
I was reading your reviews and i am not the only one with this problem. I love the whole concept of a charger to save on batteries,reason i bought it. I love it bought it as soon as it came out. But when my daughter recently asked me she wanted to play with it, It wasnt charged even though its always been plugged in.I've tried different outlet so thats not the problem.I tried one last time last night plugged it in the light glows but this morning,NOTHING.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for (Unknown)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SummersMom
Location:Calgary AB
I'm a:Working parent
Number of children:1
Product purchased for:Pre-school
First LeapFrog product?No
Was this purchased for your child?Yes
Glad I bought it!
Date:November 20, 2011
Pros: Good for on-the-go play, Fun for kids, Grows with child
My child absolutely loves her explorer, and my first thoughts were - how much is this going to cost in batteries?! I am so glad i bought the charger! Its simple enough she can plug it in herself and she knows right where it is at all times, and i don't have to worry about the batteries running out - and having to deal with a disappointed kid. The light showing it is connected properly is great so there is no mistake picking it up the next day and not having it charged.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for (Unknown)
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fun: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Educational: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mark
Location:Albuquerque, NM
I'm a:Working parent
Number of children:1
Product purchased for:Toddler
First LeapFrog product?No
Was this purchased for your child?No
Leapster Explorer Recharger
Date:November 15, 2011
Save your money! We, as have many other reviewers, had this product for only a few months. We thought this is the way to go since this machine goes through batteries like there is no tomorrow! But, after only a few months the rechargable battery no longer recharges! Save yourself a headache and go out and buy AA rechargable batteries. We are extremly disappointed with this product!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from LeapFrog:By LeapFrogCustomer ServiceNovember 15, 2011
We’re sorry you experienced difficulty with your Leapster Explorer Recharger. Please contact us at support@leapfrog.com for troubleshooting tips, or a replacement if necessary.
Response from LeapFrog:By LeapFrogCustomer ServiceNovember 15, 2011
We’re sorry you experienced difficulty with your Leapster Explorer Recharger. Please contact us at support@leapfrog.com for troubleshooting tips, or a replacement if necessary.
1 2 next>>