LeapFrog Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at LeapFrog.

LeapPad1 Explorer™

Get a LeapPad1 Gel Skin FREE with the purchase of any LeapPad1!   See Details Compare LeapPad1 to LeapPad2 > The original LeapPad1 Explorer™, the personalized learning tablet just for kids, features:   • Motion-based gameplay and a built-in microphone and camera/video recorder. As 2012 winner of the Educational Toy of the Year, Preschool Toy of the Year and overall Toy of the Year, it offers limitless learning and endless play! • An available LeapFrog Explorer™ Library of hundreds games, digital books, videos and flash cards (LeapPad1 works with all LeapFrog Explorer™ games and apps).  • 2GB of memory, enabling it to host a robust suite of apps including: innovative book apps that provide a fully interactive, cinematic reading experience with word-by-word support and state-of-the-art gameplay; a Story Studio to combine art, audio and writing; plus Art, Animation and Photo studios to inspire imaginations. • A broad curriculum including reading, mathematics, science, geography, art, music, language and culture, health and more. Plus, skill levels automatically adjust the challenge to match each child’s pace. • Access to see learning progress through the online LeapFrog Learning Path. Parents can also share their child's achievements, artwork and creations with loved ones. • Requires 4 AA batteries (not included) • For children ages 3 to 9 years.
Average Customer Rating:
4.222 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
37 out of 45(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for LeapPad1 Explorer™
Review 1 for LeapPad1 Explorer™
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sissy16124
Location:Walnutport PA
I'm a:Working parent
Number of children:1
Product purchased for:3 year old
First LeapFrog product?No
Was this purchased for your child?Yes
My son loves his Leap Pad
Date:September 9, 2013
Pros: Educational, Good for on-the-go play, Fun for kids, Grows with child
I bought this for my son for his third birthday and he is now 5 and still loves playing his leap pad. The games are educational and have helped him learn to count and recognize and write his letters. I would recomed this to anyone who has a child that love to play video games, because they are having their need for the video game satisfied while learning.
Review 2 for LeapPad1 Explorer™
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
disapointed
I'm a:Parent of 2 or more children
Number of children:3
Product purchased for:4 year old
only lasted 18 months
Date:June 25, 2013
The leappad is great fun while it lasts. Which apparently is not very long. We took great care of ours and it lasted 18 months..... died 6 months after the warranty ended, of course. It turns on for a second or two, then just shuts off (does this with both new batteries and the wall charger) Buyer beware
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for LeapPad1 Explorer™
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:KY
I'm a:Stay at home parent
Number of children:2
Product purchased for:Pre-school
First LeapFrog product?No
Was this purchased for your child?No
Leap Pad
Date:April 23, 2013
Great product for the little ones. I don't quite feel that a 3-5 year old is ready for a Ipad, so this was the next choice and it was a great one. It's well worth the money and provides a lot of learning tools through apps, books, and videos... my little ones can be entertained for hours especially when driving and be learning while they are doing it!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for LeapPad1 Explorer™
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SuperBelly
Location:Manhattan, IL
I'm a:Stay at home parent
Number of children:2
Product purchased for:5 year old
First LeapFrog product?No
Was this purchased for your child?Yes
Love it but trust me buy the LeapPad2
Date:April 16, 2013
Pros: Educational, Good for on-the-go play, Fun for kids, Grows with child
I absolutely love the LeapPad1, however if you are going to spend the money buy the LeapPad2. [I actually own one of each.] And the only reason I say this is because the LeapPad1 runs on batteries and you have to replace the batteries once a week - if you don't have rechargeable batteries. So the money you save buying the less expensive LeapPad1 will be gone and you will actually spend more money in the long due to batteries. The LeapPad2 has a rechargeable battery pack that you can purchase separately from the tablet, so once you put them in you can simply plug in your LeapPad2 at night to recharge, just like you would a cell phone. Other than that I love the LeapPad1 and I take it everywhere I go. I love that the games are educational and I can monitor their progress online. It comes in handy waiting for Drs appointment, for food a restaurant and so on.
Review 5 for LeapPad1 Explorer™
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BekkaA
Location:Wisconsin
I'm a:Parent of 2 or more children
Number of children:4
Product purchased for:Pre-school
First LeapFrog product?No
Was this purchased for your child?Yes
Leap pad 1
Date:April 15, 2013
We LOVE this product. I wish it had the cool rechargeable feature like the new one, but so happy with this product. My daughter has speech problems and the way the machine sounds out letters has encouraged her to have more confidence in achieving her goal of learning to be able to effectively communicate with others. I like that we can download games without having to search all over the place for a certain game or book at different stores.
Review 6 for LeapPad1 Explorer™
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fun: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Elenasmom
Location:Bronx, NY
I'm a:Working parent
Number of children:1
Product purchased for:2 year old
First LeapFrog product?No
Was this purchased for your child?Yes
This product has great learning games for my child
Date:March 24, 2013
Pros: Educational, Good for on-the-go play, Fun for kids, Grows with child
My daughter loves her leap pad for all the fun games it has. I love the Leap Pad because my daughter learns a lot from it. She watching learning videos and counts when violent. It's a great game system and I would recommend it to anyone.
Review 7 for LeapPad1 Explorer™
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sorullo
Location:Richmond, Ca
I'm a:Parent of 2 or more children
Number of children:2
Product purchased for:1 year old
First LeapFrog product?No
Was this purchased for your child?No
Great for Kids
Date:March 21, 2013
Pros: Educational, Good for on-the-go play, Fun for kids, Grows with child
I love this product. Great for kids. Educational but also fun.
Review 8 for LeapPad1 Explorer™
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fun: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Educational: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
kmb1016
Location:Columbia, Mo
I'm a:Grandparent
Number of children:2
Product purchased for:Pre-school
First LeapFrog product?Yes
Was this purchased for your child?Yes
Download
Date:March 3, 2013
Pros: Good for on-the-go play
I recently purchased some things to download for my granddaughter's Leap Pad. The program said it was okay to unplug the Leap Pad from the computer, that the download was complete. I unplugged it, but I don't thing the download WAS complete. At least two of the programs will make her screen go white with lines in it and we can't get the Leap Pad to do anything...not even turn off.
I am a grandmother and not very technology savvy, so now I don't know what to do.
Review 9 for LeapPad1 Explorer™
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
bingo
I'm a:Stay at home parent
Number of children:2
Product purchased for:Toddler
First LeapFrog product?Yes
Was this purchased for your child?Yes
Date:February 27, 2013
Pros: Good for on-the-go play, Fun for kids
I got this for my 3 year old daughter and she loves it. She plays with all she can and I do not mind since it it is very educational.
Review 10 for LeapPad1 Explorer™
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
adf23
Location:Houston TX
I'm a:First time parent
Number of children:1
Product purchased for:Toddler
First LeapFrog product?No
Was this purchased for your child?Yes
Great! ....except for batteries
Date:February 27, 2013
Pros: Good for on-the-go play, Fun for kids, Grows with child
Daughter loves her "computer".......wish it could be charged vs batteries. I have to change the batteries once a week. Aside from that, love!
Review 11 for LeapPad1 Explorer™
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
georgette
Location:Philippines
I'm a:Parent of 2 or more children
Number of children:2
Product purchased for:Toddler
First LeapFrog product?Yes
Was this purchased for your child?Yes
love it
Date:February 27, 2013
Pros: Good for on-the-go play, Fun for kids, Grows with child
My son loves it! After waiting for weeks for it to arrive finally we have it. Leapfrog does not ship to our country but I find ways to have it here and so happy for the product, the parcel are all good. The color is lovely and the overall quality is superb! My only problem now if I have some technical problems I cannot give it to the service area, crossing my fingers things like that will not happen. :) Thank you, hoping you ship to my country soon.
Review 12 for LeapPad1 Explorer™
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Garnet
Location:Bradford, PA
I'm a:Parent of 2 or more children
Number of children:2
Product purchased for:Toddler
First LeapFrog product?No
Was this purchased for your child?Yes
We had to have 2 of them.......
Date:February 20, 2013
Pros: Good for on-the-go play, Fun for kids, Grows with child
My 7 year old son received the LeapPad as a gift for Christmas in 2011 and his 2 1/2 year old sister found it about a month ago and wouldn't stop playing it, so to end the fighting I ordered her a pink one with the purple gel skin and she couldn't be happier!! She LOVES it and takes it everywhere!! Leap Frog products are always and excellent value and very educational!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 13 for LeapPad1 Explorer™
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nina198
Location:Chattanooga TN
Product purchased for:Toddler
First LeapFrog product?No
Was this purchased for your child?Yes
Love Leap Frog
Date:January 30, 2013
Pros: Good for on-the-go play, Fun for kids, Grows with child
This was given as a gift for Christmas. The child just loved it. I would recommend Leap Frog to everyone as a great gift for little one.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for LeapPad1 Explorer™
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
omadonna
Location:shasta lake, ca,
I'm a:Grandparent
Number of children:3
Product purchased for:Pre-school
First LeapFrog product?Yes
This products is enjoyed by my grandkids
Date:January 29, 2013
Pros: Good for on-the-go play, Fun for kids, Grows with child
I only wish it came with something to recharge it rather than having to buy batteries which with 3 grandkids gets too expensive.
Review 15 for LeapPad1 Explorer™
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
leximom
Location:south dakota
I'm a:Parent of 2 or more children
Number of children:2
Product purchased for:Toddler
First LeapFrog product?No
Was this purchased for your child?Yes
Fun for little one
Date:January 18, 2013
Pros: Good for on-the-go play, Fun for kids, Grows with child
My 7 year old son got a leappad 2 for Christmas and our 2 year old daughter loved it so much we bought a Leappad 1 for her. We loved that it comes in boy and girl colors so they each have their own distinct leappad and she loves the drawing app and the music app. Even at 2 she knows how to turn it on and get into her apps and she figured out how to use all the apps immediatelly. We have several leapfrog products and we love the personalization the company offers for each toy and each kid.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for LeapPad1 Explorer™
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fun: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Educational: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Tampa
Location:Tampa, FL
I'm a:Parent of 2 or more children
Number of children:3
Product purchased for:Pre-school
First LeapFrog product?No
Was this purchased for your child?No
Good product, heafty price
Date:January 18, 2013
Pros: Good for on-the-go play, Fun for kids, Grows with child
I love leapfrog products. Leapfrog does a great job integrating fun and education into their products. Leappad tablet is no exception. My only real objection to the product is the cost and variety of apps. I would like my daughter to be able to have a wide variety of apps on her tablet just like a grown up does. Hence, more variety and lower priced apps are a MUST for me.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for LeapPad1 Explorer™
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GIFTS
Location:PA
I'm a:Grandparent
Number of children:2
Product purchased for:Pre-school
First LeapFrog product?Yes
Was this purchased for your child?Yes
GREAT
Date:January 17, 2013
MY GRANDSONS HAVE BEEN HAVING A WONDERFUL TIME PLAYING WITH THEIR LEEP FROGS SINCE CHRISTMAS THEY JUST CALLED A FEW NIGHTS AGO AND THANKED ME AGAIN THEY ARE 5 AN3 YEARS HOPEFULLY THEY WILL ENJOY THEM FOR A LONG TIME
Review 18 for LeapPad1 Explorer™
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LeapFrogFan
Location:Texas
I'm a:Parent of 2 or more children
Number of children:2
Product purchased for:Kindergarten
First LeapFrog product?No
Was this purchased for your child?Yes
Leap pad 1
Date:January 17, 2013
Pros: Good for on-the-go play, Fun for kids, Grows with child
Two years ago we bought Leapster Explorer (LE) + accessaries - camera, recharable base, case + cartriges. His older sister, 6yrs was jealous. 2 months later I find out the LPad1 is coming soon; Christmas. Santa brought 2 LeapPad1's. The LE cartriges were compatable with LPad1 so we were all happy; although my son liked the Gaming buttens on the Leapster Explorer better. We'd like to be able to see the low battery indicator anytime we want instead of being caught w/out batteries on the go. We did purchase 8 recharable batteries (4 for each pad) and a nice charger from a seperate battery specialty store. We also wish we had more memory like the LPad2 (4G vs. 2G) the ebooks, movies, apps, & cartrige micromods, picutres & self made videos take up so much memory. It's hard for me to consider upgrading to the LPad2 when the LPad1 works so well. Maybe we'll consider the LPad3 if such a thing comes out with even more memory and features. If you''re trying to save a buck the LPad1 is great however; if I had a choice, I'd buy the LPad2 while it's on sale.
BTW, I read the reviews on the LPad2 battery pack - our specialty bought charger directions say recharable batteries will lose their life if they sit fully charged for longer than 1 week &/or if you try to charge them up when there's quite a bit of batter life still left. It says to use the batteries until they need to be charged so you get a "full charge".
The LPad2 has a battery pack accessary; a nice feature however it only charges in the pad. I would not let your kid know they can still play the game toy while its charging; nor would I plug the pad into the wall until the battery indicator comes on. This will only shorten your rechargable battery life. The charger base for the Leapster Explorer is the same. Let the kid wait four hours whlie it has to recharge! They need to go build with Lego's or play outside too.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 19 for LeapPad1 Explorer™
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fun: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Educational: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Karmen
Location:Mauston, WI
I'm a:First time parent
Number of children:1
Product purchased for:Toddler
First LeapFrog product?No
Was this purchased for your child?Yes
LeapPad Explorer I
Date:January 17, 2013
Absolutely hate it. OVERPRICED for what it offers. My child does so much better with free apps on a tablet. I have paid for and tried to download apps and they wouldn't work, and support did not help. I have never been more disappointed. In fact it is going on EBAY anyday. What a waste of money!
Review 20 for LeapPad1 Explorer™
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
bookworm0811
I'm a:Parent of 2 or more children
Number of children:2
Product purchased for:Pre-school
First LeapFrog product?No
Was this purchased for your child?No
Almost a 5 star review.
Date:January 16, 2013
Pros: Good for on-the-go play, Fun for kids, Grows with child
My kids (4 and 2) absolutely love their leap pads and I love the educational games and that they really enjoy learning new things. I feel obliged to mention one thing that bothers me as it bothers me a great deal. The sneak peek icon. I'm disappointed with Leapfrog brand that they would use such a cheap advertising ploy. In my opinion, Leapfrog has always spoken for themselves with their quality products. Kids being kids they will always want that 'shiny new toy' which can cause huge frustration as a parent. I do recommend the leap pad, I just wish there was a way around this feature!
1 2 next>>