LeapFrog Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at LeapFrog.

Tag™ Reading System (32MB)

Learn to read with the #1 selling reading system!* 99% of Teachers Recommend Tag**! Tag brings stories to life with each touch to the pages of specially printed storybooks. Words talk, pictures come to life and stories live out loud, engaging children's senses to make reading a rich, fulfilling experience. Now re-sized to better fit little hands, the Tag Reader holds audio for up to 10 titles at a time from our library of 60+ books and games! Tag storybooks and learning activities help children build reading skills such as vocabulary, phonics and reading comprehension. Parents can connect the Tag Reader online to collect fun rewards their child has earned and to see their child's play and learning on the LeapFrog® Learning Path! *U.S. Source: The NPD Group / Consumer Tracking Service; PS Electronic Learning, Electronic Reading Toy Brands as defined by LeapFrog in Dollars, Annual 2010. U.K. Source: The NPD Group/ EPoS Retail Tracking; PS Electronic Learning, Electronic Reading Toy Brands as defined by LeapFrog in Value, Annual 2010. Canada Source: The Nielsen Company, Market Track Closed Group, National Toy Market 2010 (52 weeks ending December 2010). **Based on a 2010 survey conducted by LeapFrog of teachers participating in its Tag Kindergarten Program who received Tag Reading Systems from LeapFrog for use in their classrooms.
Average Customer Rating:
4.373 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
74 out of 83(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tag™ Reading System (32MB)
Review 1 for Tag™ Reading System (32MB)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MusicMommy09
Location:Zephyrhills, FL
I'm a:Stay at home parent
Number of children:3
Product purchased for:4 year old
First LeapFrog product?No
Was this purchased for your child?Yes
Excellent Next Step
Date:August 23, 2013
Pros: Educational, Fun for kids, Grows with child, Good for on-the-go play
My daughter got a Tag Jr.(Puppy Scout as she called it) for Christmas 2011 and she loved it (she was 2). The next year we decided to upgrade her to the Tag and it has been an excellent next step in her learning process. I love that she will sit and tap through the books for hours on end unless I make her stop. She enjoys walking around listening to the audio books on it when we are out and about and it's not feasible to take a book. She is getting the phonics reading system for her birthday next week and I am so excited to see where that takes her.
 
My Product Recommendations
5 out of 5(3)
 
 
 
4 out of 5(7)
 
 
 
4.6 out of 5(8)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 2 for Tag™ Reading System (32MB)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jtjtjP
Location:North Carolina
I'm a:Parent of 2 or more children
Number of children:3
Product purchased for:3 year old
First LeapFrog product?No
Was this purchased for your child?Yes
The Perfect Pen
Date:July 19, 2013
Pros: Educational, Good for on-the-go play, Fun for kids, Grows with child
I was skeptical when these pens first came out!! But, after seeing my son go from a boy who looks at pages to a boy who reads pages and understands the story, I was a believer! This pen has allowed him to not only read his books but explore his books and he plays with his tag more then his Leappad! Great product!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
 
Review 3 for Tag™ Reading System (32MB)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KandaceMichelle
Location:Chesapeake, VA
I'm a:Stay at home parent
Number of children:2
Product purchased for:4 year old
First LeapFrog product?No
Was this purchased for your child?Yes
Amazing
Date:May 10, 2013
Pros: Educational, Good for on-the-go play, Fun for kids, Grows with child
Both my kids love this! They are constantly fighting over who gets to play with it. I just wish it could hold more than 10 books. Will definitely be buying the LeapReader when it comes out!!
Review 4 for Tag™ Reading System (32MB)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MelissaJ
I'm a:Parent of 2 or more children
Number of children:3
Product purchased for:Kindergarten
First LeapFrog product?No
Was this purchased for your child?Yes
Great system!
Date:April 16, 2013
My daughter received this as a birthday gift and she seems to really enjoy it. She only received one book, but I have several more on order. I really like that this not only reads the books, but also helps with understanding the story and sounding out the words and letters. My daughter also likes that there is interaction with the pictures. I also really like that there is more than just books available for this and plan on getting the maps, body, and solar system products in the near future.
Review 5 for Tag™ Reading System (32MB)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Princey
Location:Florida
I'm a:First time parent
Number of children:1
Product purchased for:3 year old
First LeapFrog product?No
Was this purchased for your child?Yes
Tag reader
Date:April 16, 2013
Pros: Educational, Good for on-the-go play, Fun for kids, Grows with child
Great teacher!!!! My only fear is that the tip doesn't break.
Review 6 for Tag™ Reading System (32MB)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PeytonsMommy89
Location:Indianapolis, IN
I'm a:Stay at home parent
Number of children:1
Product purchased for:2 year old
First LeapFrog product?No
Was this purchased for your child?No
I loved it so much I decided to buy another! ;)
Date:March 13, 2013
Pros: Educational, Good for on-the-go play, Fun for kids, Grows with child
Honestly, my daughter already has a Tag system but she loves it soo much that I decided to get one for a friend's kids. I hope they love it as much as we love ours! I love how the books offer more fun than just your typical reading and it's great for on the go fun and has really helped not only keep my daughter's attention but also teach her some of those sight words she's going to be working on next year in kindergarten. The library has tons of her favorite story characters as well which definitely keeps her happy and the available headphone jack keeps everyone else happy no matter where she decides to break out those books. I'd buy all my kids one, if I had more than one child. : )
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 7 for Tag™ Reading System (32MB)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hallaspalace
Location:Louisville
I'm a:Stay at home parent
Number of children:2
Product purchased for:Kindergarten
First LeapFrog product?Yes
Was this purchased for your child?No
Great tool for kids
Date:February 26, 2013
Pros: Good for on-the-go play, Fun for kids, Grows with child
We love the tag reading pen. It has been an awesome way for my children to get excited about reading by themselves. I read to them all the time but the same excitement did not transfer to learning how to read. With this pen my daughters cant wait to do reading time!
Review 8 for Tag™ Reading System (32MB)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
skyblue
Location:Rochester, N.Y.
I'm a:Grandparent
Number of children:3
Product purchased for:Pre-school
First LeapFrog product?No
Was this purchased for your child?Yes
Confusing packaging
Date:January 29, 2013
Pros: Good for on-the-go play, Fun for kids, Grows with child
I originally thought due to the packaging that the Tag Reader or Big Pencil was included in the box of the LeapFrog item I bought (as there was a large picture of it on the front of the box). Was very disappointed when my grandson opened it on Christmas Day and we discovered that it was not included. Upon carefully examining the box we did see the notation that it was not included in very tiny print that did not stand out at the bottom of the box cover. However, I did then go ahead and order the Tag reader and he loves it!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Tag™ Reading System (32MB)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Police38
Location:Bullhead city , Az
I'm a:Grandparent
Number of children:2
Product purchased for:Pre-school
First LeapFrog product?Yes
Was this purchased for your child?Yes
leap frog tag
Date:January 24, 2013
Pros: Good for on-the-go play, Fun for kids, Grows with child
I bought this as a gift for my 4 year old grandaughter, and her 5 year old sister. They absolutely love it. I was able to find books on sale and this has
helped them read.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Tag™ Reading System (32MB)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Koke
Location:garner, iowa
I'm a:Grandparent
Product purchased for:Kindergarten
First LeapFrog product?No
Was this purchased for your child?Yes
Excellent
Date:January 23, 2013
Pros: Grows with child
Educational product that help children learn to read.... excellent
Review 11 for Tag™ Reading System (32MB)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SEXY1
First LeapFrog product?Yes
TAG READING
Date:January 21, 2013
Pros: Fun for kids
EXCELLENT PRODUCT!
JUST TAKES TOO MUCH TO SET UP. FROM CONNECTING THE TAG READER TO A COMPUTER ALSO, TOO MUCH PRODUCTS THE SITES GETS A LITTLE TOO MUCH.
THOUGHT IT WAS GOING TO BE A PRODUCT, THAT ONLY REQUIRES BATTERIES.
OVER ALL EXCELLENT PRODUCT.
Review 12 for Tag™ Reading System (32MB)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GrammaMc
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
I'm a:Grandparent
Number of children:3
Product purchased for:Pre-school
First LeapFrog product?No
Was this purchased for your child?Yes
Tag read system (32mb)
Date:January 17, 2013
Pros: Fun for kids, Grows with child, Good for on-the-go play
Got Tag read system for one grandchild and just went a head and got it for the twins, one in each color. They shair the books that goes with it and have fun with the flash cards.
Review 13 for Tag™ Reading System (32MB)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Auntee
Location:Kansas
I'm a:Grandparent
Product purchased for:Pre-school
First LeapFrog product?Yes
Was this purchased for your child?Yes
Terrible Packaging Information
Date:January 10, 2013
I am a Great-Aunt and asked my nieces for suggestions for gifts for my great nephew and great niece (2 different famiies). One said her son loved the Leap Frong Tag books and after checking with the other one (whose daughter did not have any), I ordered 2 book sets online since I didn't want to search from store to store for the desired one.. What was NOT made clear in the website marketing was that the special pen is required and is NOT included. Obviously, to include a pen in every set would be a waste as one pen works for all. But it was not clearly explained to first time puchasers (particularly those who had no idea what the product did or how it worked) that a special pen was not only required but that it was not included. It wasn't until wrapping on the 21st that I noticed in very small print the legend *tag pen not included* on ONE of the boxes (but not the other one). So, I had to rush order a tag pen for my great-niece and pay exorbitant shipping to make sure it arrived in time for Christmas.
Review 14 for Tag™ Reading System (32MB)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
tams
Location:N/A
I'm a:Working parent
Number of children:1
Product purchased for:Kindergarten
First LeapFrog product?No
Was this purchased for your child?Yes
Product works great
Date:January 10, 2013
Pros: Fun for kids, Grows with child
Easy for child to use. I wish it held more than 32 MB because not everything I bought will downloadtk it.
Review 15 for Tag™ Reading System (32MB)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fun: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KMC1983
Location:Ohio
I'm a:Working parent
Number of children:1
Product purchased for:Toddler
First LeapFrog product?No
Was this purchased for your child?Yes
Fun Educational Experience
Date:January 5, 2013
Pros: Fun for kids, Grows with child
My son loves books and loves to be read to. Since he loves books so much this was the first thing that came to mind for Christmas. He loves that he can grab this and have the story read to him or play games. He loves finding out all the noises the pictures make. He has so much fun with it he picked it out as a birthday present for a friend. I gave this 4 stars due to the first pen we got messed up after only a week of use. The store we got it from was very helpful and let us exchange it.
Review 16 for Tag™ Reading System (32MB)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fun: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GrandmaChris
Location:Elkhart, IN
I'm a:Grandparent
Number of children:6+
Product purchased for:Pre-school
First LeapFrog product?No
Was this purchased for your child?Yes
This was a Christmas request for a grandchild
Date:January 4, 2013
Pros: Fun for kids
I was glad to find this web site with better offers than the stores. The leapfrog pen was a request for Christmas and they were pleased with the product! It arrived in good time and was just what was requested!
Review 17 for Tag™ Reading System (32MB)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
trboreman
great
Date:December 30, 2012
Pros: Good for on-the-go play, Fun for kids, Grows with child
We are on the second one, so that both kids have them! They love them
Review 18 for Tag™ Reading System (32MB)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:Orlando, FL
I'm a:Parent of 2 or more children
Number of children:3
Product purchased for:Pre-school
First LeapFrog product?No
Was this purchased for your child?Yes
My second one
Date:December 28, 2012
Pros: Fun for kids
it is a great toy.
I had to buy another one because my first was beat up until stop working by my twin boys.
Review 19 for Tag™ Reading System (32MB)
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fun: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Educational: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
redriver
I'm a:Parent of 2 or more children
Number of children:2
Product purchased for:Kindergarten
First LeapFrog product?No
Was this purchased for your child?Yes
Leapfrog tag pen, very nice but could store more
Date:December 26, 2012
Pros: Good for on-the-go play, Fun for kids, Grows with child
We have enjoyed using the Tag pen for a few years now. We've used the same pen, knock on wood. I have experience software issues in the past, updates come to mind. Sometimes, the update installs just fine, but on one or two occasions, I've had it completely erase the data on our pen. I just performed an update again, as I needed to add a book received for Christmas. It worked fine.
This was a gift for our son, but our daughter is the one who loves it the most. She gets to enjoy exploring a book at her own leisure.
Our son enjoys using it for the solar and world map. The games make learning fun also.
I do feel that after a few years, that the Tag pen should have a larger storage capacity. Half of our Tag books/items are installed, and half are not, because there is no room, and no way to add room. I would appreciate the ability to install an sd card, or have increased internal storage.
I was disappointed to look online today and discover that brand new ones, still sell with the same storage capacity.
We rotate books, and remove ones that get outgrown to make room for others.
As a note to users who start with the Tag Jr., we have found that the regular Tag pen works with the Jr. books. Not exactly the same functions, but it will read the story. I believe it was limited to reading a whole page at once, not being able to read individual words at a time.
Kudos to Leapfrog for adding that capability.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Tag™ Reading System (32MB)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AuntieJLH
Location:California
I'm a:Educator
First LeapFrog product?Yes
Was this purchased for your child?Yes
A Terrific Choice
Date:December 23, 2012
Pros: Good for on-the-go play, Fun for kids, Grows with child
We purchased 3 Tag Reading System "pens" for Christmas - one for each niece and nephew. Here is my basic review of our gift choice:
The kids ( two 6 nearly 7 year olds, one 3 nearly 4 year old) were initially bewildered by the box with an odd "pen" inside, but once they began to use them, they LOVED them. I appreciated that the book that comes with the Tag pen was ready to use (no computer interaction needed). Because of that, the kids were able to start using the present right away...the book also provided a nice sampling of activities. We also bought each kid his own storage case and a book to start with as well as some Talking Words Factory Flash Cards. They wanted to begin each book right away, but were content to wait until they got home for Mom and Dad to set it up with the computer since they each had the sample book to play with. I love that there is so much to do...reading entire pages, single words, spelling, games, maps, letters, ... lots! I can imagine that a single book could provide many, many hours of learning and fun. The teacher part of me loves what I saw, and their parents were surprised by how focused these active kids were with the "toys." I'm glad we chose to buy each one his/her own unit and a storage case. They loved the independence that allowed. I plan to get more books for them when birthdays come, and I will find out from their parents just how long-lived the gift will prove to be...I anticipate a positive outcome. My three year old nephew packed up his Tag pen and books into his storage case and said, "now I'm ready for college." Sounds like a winning choice to me.
1 2 3 4 next>>